Home India No-Trust Motion Against Government Accepted In Lok Sabha: 10 Points

No-Trust Motion Against Government Accepted In Lok Sabha: 10 Points

6 min read

NEW DELHI: For the first time in 15 years, a no-confidence motion against the government was moved and accepted in Lok Sabha today. Speaker Sumitra Mahajan said she would soon notify the date for discussion on the notice, which was moved by the Congress, Telugu Desam Party and Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Party. Sources told NDTV that it would be taken up next week. Parliamentary Affairs Minister Anant Kumar said, “The opposition may have no confidence on PM Modi’s government, but I want to make it absolutely clear that the people of the country has full confidence”.
Here are the top 10 facts on this story:
More than 50 opposition lawmakers supported the notice for the No Confidence motion. Rules say the Speaker has to give a date and time for the motion to be taken up for discussion within the next 10 days.
The no-trust motion does not endanger the BJP-led government. The BJP has 273 members in the Lok Sabha, far over the half-way mark, besides the allies.
The motion is seen as an opportunity for the opposition to make a point ahead of next year’s general elections and possibly nudge fence sitters like the Biju Janata Dal to choose a side. In 2003 Sonia Gandhi had moved a no-confidence motion against t eh NDA government led by Atal Bihari Vajpayee. Even then, the opposition did not have the numbers but wanted to make a point.
Earlier today, reaching out to the opposition minutes before the beginning of monsoon session of parliament today, Prime Minister Narendra Modi assured if any party, any member wants to discuss an issue, “we are ready to discuss it”.
The Lok Sabha got off to a noisy start as after taking oath, the opposition lawmakers staged a protest in the well of the house. In presence of the Prime Minister, the members started shouting slogans of “We want justice” – a reference to the special status demanded by Andhra Pradesh.
The Telugu Desam Party’s notice is an extension of its row over special financial status to Andhra Pradesh that provoked Chandrababu Naidu’s party to pull out of the NDA government earlier this year. The lawmakers of Andhra Pradesh’s opposition YSR Congress held a protest outside parliament demanding special status for the state.
The TDP had moved a notice for no-confidence motion against the government during the budget session too. But notice could not be taken up as the Speaker insisted on decorum inside the House in face of continuous protests by the AIADMK and the Telangana Rashtra Samithi.
The Congress told the government yesterday that they wanted discussion, not disruption, in parliament. But sources said it is unlikely that the two sides can agree on what they should discuss, when and how.
Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge had a long list of issues that they want parliament to discuss, including mob lynching, woman safety, “misrule” in Jammu and Kashmir, dilution of dalit atrocity law, attempts to abolish reservation in autonomous institutions and issues of farmers, unemployment and poor investments. BJP leaders have indicated that they were ready with their own list
Parliament’s budget session was indeed the least productive budget session in 18 years. The Lok Sabha worked for only 21 per cent of its scheduled time. The Rajya Sabha was just a shade better, at 27 per cent.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By News 365
Load More In India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

China plans major cut in number of Everest climbers

China will cut the number of climbers attempting to scale Mount Everest from the north by …